Our Daniel Fast Day 4: Thoughts & Recipe Links

“This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”
Psalm 118:24

Today I want to start out with a thought before I move to the topic of food.  Almost every morning, I sit under my sun therapy lamp with my breakfast and my Bible.  Soon after I settle in, one of our cats, Spock, starts walking toward me with intent, then settles down curled up by my side or on my lap to bask in the warmth of my presence and the light of my sun lamp.  His breathing slows, his body relaxes, and for that moment, I know there’s nowhere he’d rather be.  It’s one of my favorite parts of the day.

10931578_10152515869891619_1545931015578374502_o (1)

This week, I have been thinking that I need to follow Spock’s example and bask a little more in my quiet time.  I’d like to approach the presence of God with intent, then bask in His presence and the light of His Word.  I want to relax into God’s love so that there’s nowhere I’d rather be.  It can be easy to approach my devotional time as just another checkmark on my list of things to do today, but what God really wants is for me to just be with Him for a little while.

When I was pregnant with Kiddo, our other cat, Geordi, would curl up and rest his head on my tummy to listen to her heartbeat.  Over the 8 years of her life, those moments have developed into a wonderful relationship between the two.  She is Geordi’s, and Geordi is hers.  During this fast, I’d like to become better at slowing down and listening to the heartbeat of God.  Until I do, my to-do list is just a to-do list, but if I become familiar with the heartbeat of God, the actions of every day will be aligned with His purpose.  I am His, and He is mine.


On to the food:

I had wonderful intentions of posting original recipes on here, but life has been busy, and I’ve spent more time preparing the food than writing about it!  Instead, I’ll post our meal plan for dinners this week, and link to similar recipes.

Monday:
Vegetarian Chili
http://www.everydaysouthwest.com/main-dishes/bean-chili-mix/

**Important Modifications:  soak the beans overnight before preparing, or they won’t cook!  Also, soak and cook them in filtered water if you have “hard” water.
Leave out the sugar and cocoa.  You can slightly increase the savory ingredients to compensate for their flavor.**

Serving suggestion: serve on top of baked potatoes, or with plain tortilla chips/crisps  (The chips should have only corn, pressed oil, and salt on the ingredients list.)
10349886_10152512963826619_4076461921100849072_n
Tuesday: 
Whole wheat spaghetti with pumpkin sauce
http://www.veganricha.com/2014/09/vegan-pumpkin-sage-pasta.html
(It is possible to substitute vegetable broth for the coconut milk; the sauce will be less creamy & more savory.)

If you cannot find canned pumpkin, here is a simple recipe for marinara sauce from http://www.flylady.net:

Family Spaghetti Sauce
2 Tbs Olive Oil

1 tsp minced garlic
1 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes with puree
2 Tbs dried parsley
1 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes (we use more to make a spicier sauce)

Heat olive oil and saute garlic, be careful not to brown the garlic. Add can of tomatoes and then the spices, stir well and let simmer for 15 minutes, then serve over pasta.

Wednesday:
Risotto with Peas and Greens
http://food52.com/recipes/24810-amazingly-creamy-risotto-with-peas-greens

Thursday:
Leftover Night

Friday:
Pita Pizza:
Mix the marinara sauce from Tuesday’s recipe with a bit of tomato paste to thicken to pizza sauce consistency.
Spread on top of whole wheat pita bread (without yeast, sugar, or preservatives), or on top of the chapattis from the recipe on the Daniel Fast website:
http://daniel-fast.com/myrecipes/
Add vegetables of your choice (and/or crumbled tofu) and bake at 175 degrees Celsius for 10-15 minutes, or until warmed through.

That’s all the menu planning I’ve done so far, but if you are looking for recipes, don’t forget that there are some right on the Daniel Fast website. http://daniel-fast.com/myrecipes/

I would also recommend FlyLady’s soup recipes, especially if you have a slow cooker.  Just make sure that you remove or substitute any meats or dairy.  Her split pea soup has been a favorite in our family for 10 years and tastes just fine without the ham!  It’s also good with a little dill weed, if you want to enrich the flavor.
http://www.flylady.net/d/flyladys-kitchen/recipes/soup/

One thought on “Our Daniel Fast Day 4: Thoughts & Recipe Links

  1. I just exchanged visits with a fellow blogger, and found some more great recipes for you all! Her list starts out with a lot of baked goodies and sweets, which we’ll have to skip for now, but the bottom half (starting with quinoa) has some savory vegan recipes that could be used or adapted for this fast. I’d like to try the Pineapple Cashew Quinoa Salad, the Veggie & Black Bean Salad, and the Creamy Walnut Sauce, for starters! Here’s the link:
    http://blissfulbritt.com/what-id-sell-in-my-food-truck/

Leave a Reply

